Great Wines, Great Memories

Post by John Metzcar, Assistant Winemaker

I was excited to see the wines that we picked this year for our library release.  They include some of my favorites from my first year here at Oliver – the 2005 Merlot and the 2005 Zinfandel.  I learned a lot that year.   I did everything from crushing the 2005 Zinfandel grapes, to  putting the 2005 Merlot into barrels, tasting it as it matured, to eventually having the privilege of taking take that same wine out of barrels to decide on our final blend.

Recalling my first year at Oliver Winery while I tasted these wines has been great.  It was great to make, taste, and get to know the wines back then, and even more wonderful to have the opportunity to get reacquainted with them now.  I hope all of our dry red fans take the time to enjoy one of our cellared wines over the holidays (I know I will).  These wines are perfect for your holiday dinner.  We are open today and tomorrow until 8pm and on Christmas Eve until 4pm – so stop in and pick up a bottle!

*Are you planning on including Oliver Wines in YOUR holiday celebrations this year. Send us your photos and stories and we might share them in a future blog post! You can email them to jhane@oliverwinery.com.

Leave a Reply

